Court of Appeal: No “Dead Judges” on List of Election Petition Tribunal Chairmen

The attention of the Court of Appeal has been drawn to a malicious publication making the rounds in some portals that the names of 10 dead Judges featured in the list of the 250 Judges sworn-in in January 26, 2019 as Election Petition Tribunal Chairmen and Members.

In view of the above we wish to state that there was no name of a dead or retired Judge on the list we sent to the Supreme Court for the swearing-in ceremony by His Lordship the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria Mr Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammed.

The Court of Appeal therefore, finds this claim to be false, misleading and a total misrepresentation of the good intentions of the Hon. President aimed at building not only a vibrant judiciary, but an endearing democratic society.

The Hon. President had painstakingly through the efforts of the states Branches of the Nigerian Bar Association and the Chief Judges of the 36 states selected these men and women of integrity to become members of the Election Petition Tribunal.

The Court of Appeal therefore craves the indulgence of the members of the public to disregard this fake News in its entirety.


Tunde Alade

Tunde is a political Enthusiast who loves using technology to impact his immediate community by providing accurate data and news items for the good of the country.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker